How to Get Through College and Start a Career in Fashion

Senior year can be a pretty scary one. Who has never questioned: “What am I going to do after college?” or “How do I even start a career?” Well, I certainly have… So what is best than hearing from the experience of someone that has just gone through this process?

devil-wears-prada

                                                                     [Anne Hathaway in The Devil Wears Prada]

Get to know Edel Singh, LIM’s Fashion Management alumni (class of 2016) and social media manager at Saks Fifth Avenue. Edel is one of those people that are always busy, no matter what. Managing school, her personal blog, photo shoot adventures, internships and now a job makes this Norwegian girl a master in time management and multitasking. With internship experiences at Michael Kors, Elizabeth & James, Cynthia Gale and now a full-time job at Saks, Edel has valuable advice and experience to share with those who can’t wait to graduate and start ‘adulting.’

1. How is it like to be finally out of college? What is the best and worst part of it?

I can’t even begin to explain how amazing it feels to not have homework. There’s so much more free time, yet on the flipside my working days are longer, making lunch plans with people is literally impossible and I miss having Fridays off. I also miss being able to see a bunch of different people in various classes, at work, your team members are who you’re surrounded by all the time, every day.

2. How did you get your job at Saks?

I am working there as a freelancer through 24Seven recruiting agency. I found out about the interview on Thursday night, interviewed on Friday and started working on Tuesday. It was a quick process.

3. How is your experience at Saks so far? How does a normal day of work look like?

I started when we were still building a team for the brand new department, so things were chaotic – put mildly. I worked 14 hours a day more than once during my first week, and days included everything from planning event coverage to actual postings. Now my job has evolved more into reporting, acquiring assets and managing content calendar, posting across the platforms and computing shoots. So any given day, all these things are happening.

4. Now tell us a little bit about you. What made you choose fashion as a career?

I essentially wanted to go into economics or law, but after taking a year off between high school and college, I found fashion as my true calling. I realized that it was an industry that I understand, along with feeling like it’s an industry that’s often misunderstood. By working in fashion, I get to do things I thoroughly enjoy doing, such as photoshoots, and there’s a huge potential for growth both within the industry and across others.

5. What brands/designers inspire you the most? Why?

The Row and Elizabeth and James are brands that have shaped the way I perceive fashion. First of all, Mary Kate and Ashley Olsen are two of my childhood icons, and I highly respect what they have created. The Row channels ultra-high-end luxury and seeing the garments come to life in Greenwich Village, where they are actually produced, was incredible. It made me realize that true luxury is in fact attainable in a world of gold plated Chanel hardware. Elizabeth and James was transitioning from being licensed to having in-house production when I interned there Fall 2015, and it was inspiring to see just how many hands that were on deck for this. Also, it helps that both of these brands create garments that essentially represents my style.

6. What is the piece of clothing/accessory you own that holds the most sentimental value for you? Why?

I have a gold necklace with my parents’ wedding rings. Whenever I have something big coming up, I wear it to remind myself that they’re always right by my side, despite being on the other side of the Atlantic.

7. What advice would you give to a student in his/her freshman year at a Fashion College?

You chose to attend a non-traditional college, so make the most of it! Building a network is the key to success, and you do so by getting engaged at the college as well as interning, working etc. Your future is in your own hands, so make sure you make the most of it! On the other hand, make sure that you’re taking the time to soak up all the amazing things happening in your life. Work hard and be happy. 

Thanks Edel!

 

Leave a Reply

